# APCSS team captures awards for federal service

Twenty-one Asia-Pacific Center for Security Studies employees were recognized at the Honolulu-Pacific Federal Executive Board's 59th Annual Excellence in Federal Government Awards cerermony at the Joint Base Pearl Harbor-Hickam Officer's Club May 1.

The annual event honors employees from government agencies in Hawaii for their outstanding effort, dedication, and contributions to the workforce and community. Employees' organizations nominated them for these honors.

APCSS' award winners for 2015 are:

- Team Excellence: College Operations: U.S. Navy Cmdr. Alan Chace, Dr. Lori Forman, U.S. Army Lt. Col. Ian Francis, Dr. Scott Hauger, U.S. Air Force Maj. Christopher Kuchma, Professor Kerry Lynn Nankivell, Dr. Alfred Oehlers, Professor Thomas Peterman, Dr. Alexander Vuving, Dr. Virginia Bacav-Watson, Dr. Mohan Malik, Dr. Saira Yamin, U.S. Navy Lt. Nicholas Matcheck, U.S. Army Lt. Col. Donald Peterson, Robin Burrell, and Florence Rapozo.
- Federal Leader of the Year: Lenore Patton, chief, Regional Engage-



APCSS members representing the Center at the Excellence in Federal Government Awards ceremony May 1 were (left to right): Laureen Kukino, Lenore Patton, Cherrielynn Kamahele, Robin Wong, Pedro Gutierrez-Torres, Cmdr. Alan Chace, Brig. Gen. (Ret) James Hirai, Carlton Cramer, and Richard Sears.

ment Operations Department.

- Federal Employee of the Year (Professional/Admin/Tech): Carolyn Orita, Administration Management Office.
- Federal Employee of the Year (Clerical/Assistant): Larry Fryer, Human Resources Department.
- Exceptional Community Service: Johnette Chun, chief, Human Resources Department.
  - Mentor of the Year: Cher-

rielynn Kamahele, Regional Engagement Operations Department.

APCSS Director Lt. Gen. (Ret) Dan Leaf honored his staff's hard work. "Our APCSS schedule is daunting, with courses and workshops flowing yearlong with little break between events. Our staff, however, has excelled in maximizing these opportunities to build and strengthen vital partnerships in the region. They've proven that a relatively small cohort of dedicated professionals can change the world."

Dr. Miemi Byrd

## Professor highlights women's role in American progress

While showcasing women's contributions to America's social and political evolution, Dr. Miemie Byrd shared her vision of an equal workforce with U.S. soldiers at Fort Shafter, Hawaii, March 7. The Asia-Pacific Center for Security Studies professor served as the keynote speaker for the 9th Mission Support Command's Women's History Month observance.

Byrd traced women's achievements from the Revolutionary War to the Vietnam conflict and their role in today's Armed Forces. She

also described her personal experience in male-dominated fields of military and public accounting work.

"Today, I'm happy to say we've 'come a long way baby'...however, we have more to do," said Byrd, who related that women still account for only 16.6 percent of military officer corps today.

The professor laid out a fact-based case that nations experience stronger economic and social development when women are included in key development processes.

# APCSS name change honors long-time U.S. Senator Inouye

The Hawaii Congressional Delegation recently announced the redesignation of the Asia-Pacific Center for Security Studies as the Daniel K. Inouye Asia-Pacific Center for Security Studies. The change was included in the Fiscal Year 2015 National Defense Authorization Act and signed into law by the president in December.

"We're proud and humble that we will now formally bear the name of the man who was at the center of the founding of this center ... Senator Daniel K. Inouye," said APCSS Director Lt.Gen. (Ret) Dan Leaf.

"Senator Inouye had a reputation as a man of peace who embodied trust," said Leaf. "At APCSS, we will work hard to continue his legacy by being a trusted place for productive discussions and engagement on peace and security matters for the Asia-Pacific and the United States."

A ceremony to mark the official name change of the Cen-



APCSS' Dean of Academics Carleton Cramer and Dean of Business and Operations Richard Sears unveil the new Center logo. ter will be held later this year as part of the Center's 20th Anniversary celebration.

### HAILS AND FAREWELLS

APCSS welcomed a number of new members to its staff while saying goodbye to others during the period Sept. 1 to April 30.

In the Executive Operations
Group, Warren Williams joined the
administrative management office.
Public Affairs welcomed Agusto Murillo as the new staff photographer,
and Mary Ellen Haug is the Library's
newest team member. EOG bid farewell to temporary staff member Dr.
Pam Milligan.

In Admissions and Business
Operations, U.S. Navy Chief Petty
Officer Richard Cabag replaced
USN Chief Petty Officer Mordeaci
Hawthorne in the resource management section. RM also welcomed
USN Seamen William Reding and
Marvin Craft, who joined the travel
office, and Romanito Rodrigo who
replaced Joseph Torres in the budget and accounting division. Corey
Dodd replaced Catrina Thames as
an administrative assistant.

REO welcomed Liana Bratland



STAYING ABOARD: Logistics Specialist 2nd Class Copernick Louis (right) reenlists in the U.S. Navy at a March 27 ceremony at APCSS. The Center's chief of procurement and supply, Lt. Cmdr. Richard Pleasants (left), officiated the ceremony. Louis supports the APCSS mission as a supply technician.

and **Melody Adezas**. **Dwayne Ako** replaced **Raymond Adames** in DABO's information systems division and **Edwin Paras** departed his position as chief of ISD's network technology division.

DABO bid farewell to its deputy director, **U.S. Air Force Col. Jonathan Kim**, who deployed. The organization also said

goodbye to USAF Col. Steven Huss.

College of Security Studies added Massaih Ali as a managent program analyst, and USN Lt. Daniel Bradshaw replaced USN Lt. Cmdr. Daravanh Kollasch as a military operations officer. USAF Capt Chris Erlewine also joined the staff as a military operations officer. CSS college operations said goodbye to USAF Maj. Christopher Kuchma.

Mary Ann Copeland replaced Kerine Buckley in the CSS administrative support section. Filomeno Batayola joined the ops team on a temporary duty assignment.

New APCSS interns included U.S. Navy Lt. Lyndsey Fatz, U.S. Army 1st Lt. Christopher Coulombe, Kasia Biaspalava, Angelica Chavers, Cody Fultz, Alyson Kim, Paulina Kostrzewski, Matyas Kreidler, David Lim, Aneta Pachedzhieva, and Michael Perry. Departing interns included USAF Capt. Liang-Kuan Ho and Jillian McGee.

**Mizuho Kajiwara s**erved as a visiting academic.